Insurgent: A Book Review

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

What is it with dystopian novels and my desire to hate-read them? Anyway, here’s my (hate-)review, I guess.

One choice can transform you, or destroy you. Every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves, and herself, while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

What I liked in this book:

  1. … thinking
  2. …  still thinking
  3. … my notes are no help
  4. Well, I did like how Tris called out Tobias’ double standard. I thought the two of them were to thick to figure it out, but yay for the heroine to actually think clearly for once.

What I didn’t like in this book:

  1. The twists are super predictable. If you think someone will be a bigger bad than Jeanine (even from Divergent), they will be. If you think someone is in love with a close friend, they are.
  2. The daddy issues were pissing me off. Yes, abuse is bad and should not be done to anyone. That includes enacting revenge (the same way) on your abuser. It does not show bravery, it does not show leadership potential. It is petty. It shows cowardice and malice. The best option is to still be the bigger man and forgive. That shows true bravery and leadership.
  3. On the same note, the Dauntless shouldn’t be hissing “coward” to a young man who escaped his abuser at a young age. I mean what did they expect him to do? Beat his father up to pulp? Yes, good, more violence to counteract violence. That works out great for everyone.
  4. This phrase: “… standing in the mouth of this furnace in which I will burn”. What?
  5. Tris, oh, Tris. You see yourself as helpless and weak yet you resent anyone (to the point of harm) who will point it out to you.
  6. Tobias giving Tris an ultimatum that she either shape up or he’ll dump her. I mean, don’t do it for your own well-being or anything, Tris, he’ll dump you so you better get your act right.
  7. The little things in how certain people react to situations like they are not human beings as we know human beings to be. Such as:
  • laughter as a response when Edward charged and almost punched Peter, I would have expected a tense silence among the audience
  • the Erudite woman in the bathroom where Tris and the others broke into didn’t seem to question why she was climbing through a broken window on a ladder and that there was broken glass everywhere

Rating: 2/10. Even worse than the first book. Nothing happened, the ending didn’t blow me away. Didn’t even answer any questions I had about the first book. I would still read the third (last!!!) book. CLOSURE. And hopefully some answers.

One thought on “Insurgent: A Book Review

  1. It’s truly a nice and helpful piece of information. I am happy that you shared this helpful info with us. Please stay us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

