From Limbujan, General MacArthur.

Over the last couple of months, I got into working for ZOA Philippines. I won’t get into it now, that’s a whole ‘nother post in itself.ย Last Wednesday, my team went on a hike to Limbujan, General MacArthur for initial assessment. We were instructed that it was about an hour hike and that we would be crossing a small river (stream? creek?). Dressed in a thin, long-sleeved shirt and hiking sandals with a bottle of water in my bag, the team started on the trail. A few minutes in we were already crossing a body of water that came up to my knees. We spent nearly two hours climbing the muddy trail under the blazing sun and two quick rainshowers.

It was horrible. I am inexperienced in hiking or any type of long walks, this was my first, to be honest. It didn’t take much for me to start breathing heavily and be sweating bullets. A throbbing headache was starting by the time we reached Limbujan.

But let’s not dwell on that.

That’s San Isidro, General MacArthur

That view is crazy.

Here’s the view on the right, my phone has no landscaping ability my apologies.

I got a weird tan line on my legs because of the pants I was wearing, but everything was well worth it.

I’m thankful that we had very thoughtful fatherly-type men with us who assisted the city folk on how to hike. Like giving me that stick to help me walk. I won’t lie, I felt like I was on a journey helping a hobbit get a ring to someplace. My body was practically useless the next day, but I had a great time.

Leave a Reply

